My tangled-up life…

Chronicles of life and crafting

Twitter has become my blog, and updates! June 13, 2011

Filed under: Chris,discount code,Disney World,Etsy,excitement,goals,Tour de Fleece,vacation — craftygirl83 @ 4:01 pm

So apparently now that I’m on Twitter, I no longer feel the need to blog.  It’s very weird, and I’m sorry if you’ve been waiting for a new post from me and haven’t gotten one.  It just seems like everything has gotten condensed down to the 130-character limit that Twitter imposes, and since I tweet on there all day, I can’t figure out what to say on a blog post anymore because everything feels slightly redundant.  Oh well- I’ll try to do better.

Disney was a lot of fun.  Hot and fairly crowded toward the weekend, but we had a nice time.  I got some really great pictures.

 

Walt and Mickey in front of Cinderella's Castle

Cinderella's Castle at night

Spaceship Earth at night

Ceiling at the Chinese Pavilion at Epcot

Monarch at the Butterfly Garden at Epcot

Magnolia at our hotel

After I got back, it was pretty much balls to the wall to keep the shop going… I was so tired from all of the traveling that I didn’t really want to do anything with the shop for a week, and then I got behind, so… you know how it is. ;)

Speaking of the shop, I have made a very important business decision and I wanted to share it with you guys.  As of June 1, Unwind Yarn Company is officially my full-time job, and I am now a registered small business owner with the US government!  Isn’t that exciting!?  Dyeing fiber, spinning, knitting, and dyeing yarn is really what makes me the happiest I’ve ever been, work-wise, so I’ve decided to just make it my job.  Chris has been extremely supportive and is very excited for me, and I am going to do my best to turn my little Etsy shop into a fully functional yarn and fiber source for the fiber artist.  One way I’m doing that is by having twice-weekly shop updates (every Sunday and Thursday at 2pm EST).  Another way is that I am an official sponsor of the Tour de Fleece this year on Ravelry!  I’m providing two prizes (a ~4.5oz batt set and ~4oz of roving), and I’m also offering something that some of you might like to take advantage of: a 15% off discount for any TdF participant!  Everything in my shop is eligible for the discount, including yarn and patterns, because knitters and crocheters are invited to participate in the TdF as “hand cyclists”, and they need supplies too!  All you have to do to get the discount is to enter in code TDF2011 at checkout to save 15% on everything (not including shipping of course).  So I’d appreciate any encouragement you guys can send my way, and if you buy something you’ll definitely help me out as well. :)

Well that about sums it up for now.  I’ll try to be a bit better about writing more on here… it’s just so hard when Twitter is instantaneous! ;) Oh and if you are on Twitter, my tweets are protected (just because I was getting lots of spam), so send me a request if you want to follow me: @craftygirl83.  Hope you guys are having a great week so far!

<3

 

3 Responses to “Twitter has become my blog, and updates!”

  1. Hello and thank you for leaving your comments on my blog! I have subscribed to yours now as well. Good luck with your shop–you have some beautiful things and I hope it works out for you. I’m on Twitter a lot but I lurk more than I post. That’s the next thing I want to work on. ;) I’m going to send you a follow request so be on the lookout for @clumsyincali.

  2. Because I’m a mega dork, I also wanted to add that I didn’t realize you did the Just One More Row podcast. So awesome! I’m embarrassed to admit this but I’m about 10 months behind on my podcasts. I know! So pathetic. I pretty much dropped off the face of the earth last August. I heard your podcast recommended by many people and it’s been on my iTunes feed but I haven’t had a chance to add it into the rotation yet. I’m going to load it up tonight so I can listen to it on my plane trip tomorrow. :)

    • craftygirl83 Says:

      LOL it’s ok! We got started up right after you guys quit doing yours, so it’s ok if you haven’t listened to us yet. We just released episode 15 yesterday so you’ve got some time to catch up. :) I hope you enjoy it! And I really miss your podcast… I hope someday your and Peter’s schedules can mesh again so you can start doing it again! You guys inspired us a lot when we were deciding on our format!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.