My tangled-up life…

Chronicles of life and crafting

Expanding my skill set. June 26, 2011

I have been proficient (or what I consider to be proficient) on my wheel for about a year now.  Any yarn I want to make, I can pretty much do it, without getting really nasty surprises.  I have a good grasp on what I can do with different types of fiber, and although I’m still learning long draw, I could probably do it if I really tried.

But when it comes to spinning on a spindle, I am a big fat chicken.  I really didn’t see the point of spinning on spindles for a long time.  The wheel is much faster for me, and I could produce the yarn I wanted, so why bother with a spindle?  Well the main reason to spin on both types of tools is that sometimes taking a wheel along with you just isn’t practical… the way that taking socks along as a portable knitting project is much more reasonable than taking an afghan or large sweater project.

A friend and I recently splintered off from the spinning group we’d been attending (for various reasons, but the main ones being that we didn’t feel welcome or wanted… they were very cliqueish and not very welcoming, even though they’d invited US to join) and in our quest to decide where to meet with our newly formed group (that consists of her and me right now, but we’re hoping for new people!!), we decided on the mall that’s close to where we live.  Now spinning at the mall is quite an experience… if you haven’t done it, you really should try it sometime.  What’s surprised me the most is that children are so much more polite than adults… and the older the adult is, the more they feel they can walk up to you and provide commentary (either welcome or unwelcome) on what you’re doing.  The look on people’s faces when we tell them we’re making yarn is quite priceless sometimes.  Children seem to accept this and almost always say some variation of “cool!” or “that’s awesome!” but adults get this dumbfounded look on their faces and almost always say something along the lines of “why would you want to do that?”.  Let’s just say that I have high hopes for the future of fiber arts, because children seem genuinely interested in learning to do things with their hands, and, well, the older generation won’t be around forever so I’m not worried about evangelizing to them or teaching them anything they aren’t interested in.  My favorite comment was from a boy that looked to be about 12 or so.  He said “I’m a knitter and I’d love to make my own yarn to knit with. A lot of my friends knit too- boys AND girls.”  That absolutely made my day.

Anyway, I’ve digressed quite a lot.  The point of talking about the group was to say this: on our first two meeting days, it was raining both days, so I couldn’t even conceive of taking my Little Gem out of the house.  (For those of you that don’t own Majacraft wheels, they’re extremely sensitive to temperature and humidity changes; it’s not really a good idea to take them outside into hot, steamy weather when they’re used to a climate-controlled 73 degrees with very little humidity, and then bring them back inside afterward.  Over time it can weaken them and make them split if there are any faults in the soft Rimu wood they’re made of.)  So I had to bring something with me to work on, and hadn’t really spun on a spindle in a long time… so I grabbed my medium Turkish spindle from Threads Thru Time on Etsy and about 1.5oz of some mixed BFL roving I’d dyed (some leftovers from my shop) and took it with me.  Well my singles sucked horribly for the first few days I tried it, but I think I’m gradually getting better!   It turns out that it’s not as hard as I made it out to be at first… and that  muscle memory translates between wheel spinning and spindling.  I am definitely happy with the way that a well-wound cop looks on a Turkish spindle… it makes my little semi-OCD heart swell with joy.

Periwinkle Swirl BFL on medium Turkish spindle

In gearing up for the Tour de Fleece, I’m going to attempt to spin 15 minutes a day on one of my spindles (and I’m ashamed to say I have a LOT of them now… considering I really didn’t start spinning on them in earnest til a month ago).  My other goals are loftier, but I think this one is just as important.  And let’s just say… a spindle is now in my purse at all times.

XO-

D

 

3 Responses to “Expanding my skill set.”

  1. I love that you are doing this in a mall, the “town square” of the 21st century, where you get to surprise and teach and delight strangers with this cool passion of yours. I’m in awe of people with your skills and think it’s great that spinning and knitting aren’t something out of a history book or fairy tale.

    Why did you choose the mall?

    • craftygirl83 Says:

      Thanks for your comment and kind words! My friend and I chose the mall because it was one of the only places that we could think of that had available seating in the small food court, ample lighting, and we knew we wouldn’t be disturbing anyone or taking up too much space that a store (like Books A Million) might rather have for customers. Also, it’s less than 5 minutes from both of our houses. :)

  2. tnknitter Says:

    I just love the turkish spindles and your spindle spinning looks beautiful!
    I spun on my micro Trindle one day while getting my oil changed and a woman sitting next to me wanted to know if it was cheaper to make my own yarn. I smiled and told her no but the spinning was fun. She took that kindly and said, so you’re doing it for the process that you enjoy. I just love it when people get it!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.